Expired Tag or Registration
In Florida, any person whose motor vehicle tag or registration has been expired for more than six months commits a second-degree misdemeanor (punishable by up to 60 days jail or six months of probation and $500 fine) if it is the registrant’s second such violation. Under the current statute, a failure to register (expired tag) will cause criminal charges to be brought and place you at risk of acquiring a permanent criminal record. Fla. Stat. § 322.07.
Numerous defenses exist under Florida law to contest this charge. If you have been accused of expired registration or tag, call Michael for a free consultation.