Florida 0-20-Life

 The Florida “10-20-Life” law (Fla. Stat. § 775.087) requires judges to order mandatory minimum sentences of 10, 20 or 25 years to life upon the commission of certain enumerated felonies involving a firearm or other destructive device. (These penalties escalate even more – 15, 20 or 25 years to life – if the firearm is an assault weapon or a semiautomatic weapon with a high-capacity magazine or a machine gun.) Moreover, this minimum sentence must be imposed in addition and consecutive to the sentence for the underlying felony.

The underlying felonies that 10-20-Life imposes this additional minimum sentencing requirement are:

(* Please note that for both Possession of a Firearm by a Felon charges and Aggravated Assault charges, Judges must impose a mandatory minimum three-year sentence, instead of a 10-year one.)
Under The Florida “10-20-Life” Law, a sentencing judge must sentence a Defendant convicted of any of the above felonies to an additional minimum sentence of:
  1. 10-years to any accused convicted of committing or attempting to commit any of the above felonies, while armed with a firearm or destructive device;
  2. 20-years if the accused fired the firearm; and
  3. 25-years to life if the accused discharged the firearm and killed or seriously hurt someone.